Shine

A quick break from the normal posts of gaming or cooking or doggy business, please read on πŸ™‚

In September, I’ll be taking part in Shine in Glasgow. For those that don’t know what it is, its a marathon/half marathon around Glasgow for the ever brilliant charity Cancer Research UK. Once I’m actually signed up to it, I’ll be getting a “justgiving” page set up so that people can donate as much or as little as they want.

Why am I doing this? Well, as we all know, 1 in 3 people are affected by cancer. They may not have it themselves, but could be related to someone that either have it or have beaten it. Some people are unfortunate enough to know people that have lost their fights.

My maternal granmother has skin cancer, and my paternal great aunt had breast cancer. This means that I’m more at risk of getting cancer than some other people…so far I’ve been blessed with good genes and any checks that have been had have come through clear, but y’know, if there is a chance that I could get this, I want to know that people are getting the best in medicinal treatment and other support. This event helps to raise awareness and also to raise money to help find potential cures and ways to beat this devastating illness.

Please, find an event near you, they’re happening in most major cities in the UK, you don’t need to take part, although if you do that’d be brilliant, but even going and giving your support in the warm up events, going to the cheering stations or even just putting a couple of quid in a bucket.

SO yeah, donate some money to this charity, or take part and raise money and awareness in your area. JUST DO SOMETHING.

Thanks folk πŸ™‚

Leave a comment