Dragon Age 2, Crysis 2 and GoW3 Beta

Hmm, it would appear that I haven’t updated this in a couple of weeks. Apologies to those who are quite clearly gripped by my ramblings (all 5 of you :p ).

Over the last few weeks I’ve been playing Dragon Age 2 to death and been having some fun arguments with some friends over who’s the better character, Anders or Fenris. On my first playthrough I went for the romance option with Anders (by accident, I was trying with Fenris, but pressed the wrong button on one conversation and Anders ended up sucking my rogues face off) and initially I was okay with this until the 3rd act, where, well…all Hell breaks loose because of one stupid decision made by Anders and my character helping. Those that haven’t played it, I wont spoil it for you, but needless to say, I promptly ended the romance with him, losing myself gamerscore because of his dickishness. Second playthrough and I’m killing all mages, much to Fenris’ delight so he’s really loving my character (angry angry warrior this time – saving my mage playthrough till last).

From the two playthroughs I’ve had of DA2, I’m really enjoying it, the graphics are pretty, although repetitive. Voice acting and conversations have vastly improved from the first game and the game mechanics of fighting control have also improved greatly. The only thing I’ve found wrong with it other than being one of the buggiest games in a long time, is that as I mentioned before, the graphics, while improved are repetitive. Its almost as though the developers ran out of time so decided to cut corners and use the same layout for every cave and hidden lair around. I’d say 7/10 thanks to the lazy graphics and still unfixed bugs.

I’ve also been watching the boyfriend play Crysis 2, I gave it a little bash on my profile, not quite sure what to make of the game myself….stealth is really not my forte at all, but it is a really beautiful game with that crytek engine. Just a shame about the stiff voice acting….

Now, down to business…anyone thats on my twitter list will know that over the weekend, the EPIC team behind Gears of War 3 have been handing out codes for the multiplayer beta which started today (lucky Bulletstorm owners). The lucky people who managed to get a code were able to start playing and I have to admit, I’m a jealous cow that I never got a code. Although, it did make me actually pre-order Gears 3 yesterday morning so I should get to have a go from next Monday…I’ll be the one cowering in the corner from everyone as Baird 🙂

Also, anyone that remembers, I don’t really like playing online, so for me to be doing this whole beta thing is completely out of character for me, but hey, its Gears and well…I ❤ Anya.

Leave a comment