Mild annoyance

I’d like to think of myself as reasonable, sometimes even laid back about a lot of things. One thing I can’t stand for though is outright rudeness through blind jealousy.

Earlier today, someone on my twitter feed responded to a suggestion by another poster about a competition they were thinking of holding. He accused them of fixing each competition that the original poster had held previously as he’d entered dozens and dozens of comps but never won any whereas a ‘random’ always seemed to win.

At this point, I’d like to mention that the original poster is kind of popular. He has almost 25,000 followers. Anytime he has a competition, they are always fun to take part in, and even if you don’t win, you get to see that you’re not the only person that’s got such a skewed and obscure sense of humour.

I think most ‘geeky’ people are like that though.

Poster number two however, has less than 60 followers. Normally he is a really nice guy, but for some reason, his comment really pissed me off. I’ve known him for almost 6 years through Xbox live and a gaming forum that we both frequent, so this came as something totally out of character as far I was concerned.

He really really pissed me off. I didn’t say anything on twitter, but I had to get it off of my chest, so where better than my first blog post of the year? Start the year as I mean to go on. Bitching.

What gives him the right to assume that just because he hasn’t won a competition, (that most of the time aren’t really competitions, they’re random draws of luck from the twitter replies) that said event has been fixed from even before it had been decided what to bid on?

Seriously. I’m not naming names, but I gather that people who follow him from my feed will realise it’s him. I think he has an addiction with winning through gamerscore.

I mean, I enter loads of these comps as well, but so do approximately 25,000 other people! I don’t expect to win any of them. Although, it would be nice if I did. I know people that have won a couple and they were all legitimate winners.

Just, don’t moan because you have a one in 25,000 chance of winning a competition, the odds are really not in your favour. Simple maths.

Also, spelling and grammar. Please get them sorted.

Ok, I think that’s me…oh and I’m aware that my grammar and spelling is not exactly the best either. But think before you throw damned accusations about.

Bloody Hell.

2 thoughts on “Mild annoyance

  1. You mentioned gamerscore then and had to reassure myself that you were indeed talking about a male, not moi! xD

    Still this sucks though, I enter competitions these days and automatically think ‘I wont win’, and if I do it always makes me happy. People need to sort their act out.. including me, I need to stop moaning over Twitter about my life =P

    I get jealous of huge competition winners but that soon goes, I mean what would I do with a large van full of gadgets, eh? *mumbles*

Leave a comment